Dyer wins Men’s Invitational with 146 for 18 holes

-A A +A
By Tommie Kendall

The scores were not as low as last season but they were just as close at the Henry County Country Club Men’s Invitation on Aug. 22-23.

Rusty Dyer shot a 2-over-par 146 for 36 holes, just one stroke better than Jim Richardson at 147 and three strokes better than Brad Gross at 149. Scotty King was fourth at 151 and Vincent Vaughn was fifth at 153. Vaughn won last year’s tournament with a 135.

“We tried to make it tougher this year with pin placements and the layout,” Golf Pro Neil Uhl said, after pointing out the 11-stroke difference.

The mens-only tournament was held at the country club located just north of New Castle. At the two-day event held on a Saturday and Sunday, there were 98 total golfers between the Championship Flight, First Flight, Second Flight, Third Flight and Fourth Flight.

“Our numbers were a little higher than last year but they used to be in the 150s,” Uhl said. “With the economy, it has really hurt us the last few years.”

In the 19-player Championship Flight, Dyer shot a 38-34 on day one for an even-par 72, one stroke ahead of Richardson and King. Dyer came back with a 38-36 on day two to hold off Richardson, who shot 37-37. Gross finished with a tournament-low 34 on the final nine holes to grab the third-place spot, while King fell back to fourth and Vaughn hung on for fifth.

In the First Flight, K.C. Tingle shot a 74-84 on back-to-back days for the 158 win. Larry Staples, Jimmy Hensley and Rob Harris tied for second with 161 each.

In the Second Flight, Shannon Brown won with a 157, Jimmy Brandenburger was second at 161 and Bill Bowlin was third at 163. In the Third Flight, Chris Peyton was first at 156, and Mike Davis and Larry Bohannon tied for second at 164 each. And in the Fourth Flight, Bill Barnes won at 168, Jimmy Vaughn was second at 176 and Roger Wafford was third at 177.

Krissy Martin from Nevel Meade Golf Course in Prospect won the Ladies Invitation on June 17 with a 2-under-par 70 for 18 holes, three strokes ahead of Carolyn Adcock in the 36-person field. At the Club Championship on July 18-19, Lindsey Bevill won the women’s division with a 154 for 36 holes, while Vincent Vaughn won the men’s division at 150 in a playoff hole against Brad Gross.

E-mail us about this story at sports@hclocal.com.