Rand wins reelection; Massie wins 4th dist.

-A A +A

Eminence council to remain the same; Pleasureville council will change by one member

By Jonna Spelbring Priester

State Representative Rick rand won what became a relatively narrow race, defeating two-time challenger T.K. Broecker, 8,587 to 6,326 in the three counties Rand covers — Henry, Oldham and Trimble.

Rand easily won Henry (3,988 to 2,457) and Trimble Counties (2527 to 990), but lost in Oldham County (2879 to 2072).

For the U.S. House, 4th District seat — vacated by Republican Geoff Davis earlier this year, Republican Thomas Massie handily defeated Democrat Bill Adkins, 178,983 to 99,912 statewide. In Henry, Massie led Adkins 3,540 to 2,423.

In city council and commission races, nothing will change for the Eminence City Council members. Incumbent Danny Meadows led all candidates with 579 votes, followed by Leo Mason (566), Polly Troxell (550), LeeAnn Armstrong (522), Treva Browning, 453) and Tom Shroyer (446).

Challengers Jeremiah Clark, Shawn Bright and Jon E. Park finished with 421, 395 and 223 votes respectively.

In Pleasureville, three incumbents won reelection. Incumbent Diane Perry led there with 164 votes, followed by incumbent Shawn Mertz with 155, former commission member Vic Harrod with 150, and incumbent R.L. Wilson with 143. Incumbent Pam Bramblett finished with 98 votes.

In Campbellsburg, six candidates vied for the six council seats. Jason Stanley led with 213 votes. He was followed by Earl Higgins with 194, Lorraine Hawkins with 191, Sharen Clem with 186, Mark “Andy Murray with 179, and Shelley Noe with 151.

In New Castle, Harry Mitchell led the way with 234 votes, followed by incumbent Linda Golden with 205 and Juanita Raisor with 193. Charlie Sevier won the fourth seat on the council as a write-in candidate, with 38 votes.

In Smithfield, Les Bryant won, unchallenged, the unexpired term for mayor with 28 votes. Ruth Clark led commission candidates there with 29 votes, followed by Sue Kelley with 28, Chad M. Potts with 27 and Lynn Fox with 26.

Gina Lyle won an uncontested race for Circuit Court Clerk with 5,003 votes.

Tony Whaley, also unopposed, won 973 votes for the Henry County Board of Education’s 1st district.

Similarly, Danney Chisholm, unopposed, won 361 votes for the 3rd district, and Donnie Tipton won 637 votes for the 4th district.

For the Eminence board of education, Ben Coomes (833 votes) and Danny Fisher (749 votes) won reelection unopposed.

Finally, Republican Courtney T. Baxter easily won the Commonwealth’s Attorney race over William Carter, 23,559 to 12,339 in Henry, Oldham and Trimble Counties, winning each county by a comfortable margin.

Voter turnout in Henry County 59.5%.