Superintendents commend boards

-A A +A

As superintendents of Eminence Independent and Henry County Public Schools, we are extremely proud of the students and teachers, the administrators and the service workers who are the heart and soul of our school systems. And we are also proud of the district leadership this community has put in place through the members of our boards of education.

Harold Bratton, Danney Chisholm, Miranda Clubb, Tony Whaley, Donnie Tipton, Ben Coomes, Brenda Chisholm, Pam Morehead, Danny Fisher and Tony Adams aren’t just elected officials. They are a part of this community as farmers, business owners, pharmacist, lawyer, parents and grandparents. They are employers, friends, family members and in every way an important part of the fiber of our community.

The state of Kentucky has chosen to join other states in observing January as School Board Member Recognition Month. Our local school board members are second to none in being worthy of sharing in this appreciation.

Well-lighted, efficiently heated and cooled, safe and secure schools don’t just happen. New instructional methods for teachers must be supported. Buses that have aged must be replaced. Rules for an orderly operation of a classroom and a school must be observed.

Finances to purchase new technology, retain quality staff, and improve facilities must be managed carefully - not just when a budget is adopted and tax rates are set, but throughout the year. Each aspect of a quality public school system is tied to the solid work of the members of our school boards.

There are many reasons to take pride in our school system. One of them is the labors of the members of the Henry County and Eminence Independent Boards of Education. This month we are pleased to join so many others in thanking Tony Adams, Danny Fisher, Pam Morehead, Brenda Chisholm, Ben Coomes, Donnie Tipton, Tony Whaley, Miranda Clubb, Danney Chisholm and Harold Bratton for their work for our children and our community.

Tim Abrams, HCPS Superintendent, and Buddy Berry, EIS Superintendent