Jeffries, Mings make All-Region teams

-A A +A
By Tommie Kendall

In a vote of the 8th Region’s basketball coaches, Henry County High School seniors Connor Jeffries and Kelsey Mings were named to the All-Region Teams which were announced early Monday morning.

Jeffries and Mings both were statistically top players for Henry County this season, along with providing leadership. Jeffries and the boys’ team finished the season with a 15-13 overall record and lost to Owen County in the opening round of the 31st District tournament. Mings and the girls’ team finished at 15-10 and also lost to Owen in the first round of the postseason. Jeffries and Mings were the only two players from either county schools — Henry County or Eminence — to be named to the list.

The boys’ All-Region Team was headlined by Anderson County senior Jacob Russell, who was voted the Player of the Year. The forward helped lead Anderson to an 17-8 overall record. Other players to make the team besides Russell and Jeffries were Shelby County’s Donovan Johnson, Boomer Beckley and Daryl Hicks; South Oldham’s Casey Jackson and Brice Jewett; North Oldham’s Alex Foley and Devon Rowan; Gallatin County’s Zac Jones; Simon Kenton’s Casey Sorrell; Owen County’s Sawyer Williams and Jordan Shelton; Walton-Verona’s Jordan Ponzaer; and Spencer County’s Logan Dunbar.

The girls’ All-Region Team was headlined by Simon Kenton junior Sydni Wainscott, who was named Player of the Year. The guard averaged 17.5 points and 5.3 rebounds per game, and led Simon Kenton to the 8th region finals. Other players to make the team besides Wainscott and Mings were Owen County’s Rianna Gayheart; Walton-Verona’s Kelli Dixon and Courtney Sandlin; South Oldham’s Jasmine Whitfield and Jordann McGuffin; Carroll County’s Hannah Devine; Anderson County’s Sydney Brown and Erial McKee; Shelby County’s Aaliyah Wells; Gallatin County’s Brooke Hill; Williamstown’s Tori Whilhoit; Oldham County’s Emily Lape; and North Oldham’s Nicole Bryan.

South Oldham’s Steve Simpson (boys) and Walton-Verona’s Cory Miller (girls) received Coaches of the Year awards.

E-mail us about this story at sports@hclocal.com.