May 22 primary to feature five races

-A A +A
By Christopher Brooke

Voters will decide five local party nominations during the primary election May 22, including for the Democrat and Republican candidates for judge-executive.

Two Democrats filed for the judge-executive office with the county clerk by the Jan. 30 deadline including incumbent John Logan Brent and challenger Glenn Baxter.

On the Republican ballot, voters will choose between Bonnie Martin-Duke and Danny Cravens for judge-executive.

In terms of races for contests for the nomination for magistrate candidates, two primary races have emerged. Two Democrats filed in District 4, including Chuck Smith and Hugh McBurney. The winner will face the incumbent, Terri Cummings, a Republican, who was not challenged in the primary.

Two Republicans filed in District 5 in the hopes of challenging incumbent Mike Fisher, a Democrat, in the fall. They are Richard Steele II and Jamie Tingle.

In terms of other county officials, one other primary race will appear on the May ballot. The current jailer, Scott Southworth, faces a challenge from another Democrat, Wesley Morrison.

Candidate filings set up a number of general election contests in November, including:

• Keith Perry, Republican, and Danny Stivers, Democrat, competing for the sheriff’s position being vacated by Danny Cravens.

• incumbent Rickey Timberlake, a Democrat, will need to fend off a challenge from Roger Hartlage, a Republican, in order to return to the District 2 magistrate seat.

• incumbent magistrate in District 3, Jason Stanley, a Democrat, will face Republican Bill Tapp.

• in District 1, Jimmy Tingle, a Democrat, and William Dale, a Republican, will both seek the constable position in District 1.

Several candidates seeking office in general election are unopposed, including District 1 Magistrate Scott Bates, District 6 Magistrate Jerry Beasley, County Attorney Virginia Harrod, County Clerk Shanda Archer, Court Clerk Gina Lyle, Property Valuation Administrator Jason Scriber, Coroner Jimmy Pollard, James Edds for constable in District 2, Richard Jaehnigen for constable in District 4 and Roger Beasley for constable in District 6.