.....Advertisement.....
.....Advertisement.....

Meet our summer intern: Collin Overton

-A A +A
By Collin Overton

 Growing up in a small town, I cut my reading teeth on community newspapers like this one. That’s why this summer, I’m excited to be interning with the Henry County Local.

I grew up in a community not too different from this one, just 40 minutes down the road in Trimble County. Playing sports meant I made a lot of memories at Henry County High School’s track and playing Babe Ruth League baseball at Harry Hill Park, so I still consider the county part of my home territory in a way.

This fall, I’ll be going into my senior year at Eastern Kentucky University, where I major in broadcast and electronic media and minor in political science. There, I’m editor-in-chief of EKU’s weekly student newspaper, The Eastern Progress, and the president of our Society of Professional Journalists chapter. I’ve learned my biggest lessons at Eastern, and I’m excited to apply them to my work for the Local.

Outside of the Progress, I’ve written for the Madison Courier and RoundAbout Madison in Madison, In. You might have seen some of my feature stories in RoundAbout last summer, which circulates all over Kentuckiana. Some of the people in my stories have been residents of Henry County or leaders in its communities.

After graduation, I want to further pursue my passion for reporting, whether that be for a newspaper or an online publication. I can’t say that’s exactly where I’ll be ten years down the road, but by learning all I can now and looking for new opportunities, I think I’ll find where I’m meant to be. Even if that means being the guy who holds the boom mic up during news broadcasts.

I want to eventually further my education in journalism and get my master’s so that I can teach journalism at a college level. I owe a lot of my success in life to my teachers, professors and college newspaper advisors, so I want to do the same for future students. In the meantime, I hope journalism gives me the opportunity to see more of the world learn more about it.

A little more about me: I love Netflix shows, guitars, coffee, travelling, politics, watching sports and making music with my friends. Like almost everyone around here, I grew up a fan of Kentucky basketball and remain a huge fan to this day (sorry EKU). I live at home in Milton during the summers with my family, two dogs, four cats, two rabbits and whatever other animals my stepmom wants to bring home this week.

I couldn’t be more grateful for the opportunity to work with the Local this summer, and to the people of Henry County for making me feel welcome. While I won’t be here for long, I hope to leave an impact through growing our social media presence and introducing more video into our storytelling. So give us a follow or a like, and stay tuned for new content. I can’t wait to make the most of my time here.

p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; text-indent: 9.5px; line-height: 10.5px; font: 10.0px 'ITC Galliard'}
span.s1 {font-kerning: none}